Greengirlinc's Blog

Greening the world one blog at a time.

Dehydrators to Go Green? July 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tiffany C @ 11:28 AM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sure!  What better way to take advantage of local, seasonal food than by dehydrating the bounty of the season.  That is what I recently decided to do.  Our family LOVES dried blueberries all year.  We put organic blueberries on sunbutter and toast.  Oh so yummy, and healthy too.  The downside is that organic dried blueberries are very pricey.  We have a number of local growers who don’t use a bunch of nasty pesticides.  Even better, to save money, you can go and pick your own.  That’s what we did the last weekend.  The blueberry recipes are flowing out of my kitchen.

I decided to invest in a dehydrator.  Well, I can’t just go buy a dehydrator, I need to research.  I started thinking about the material used in dehydrators.  With all the buzz about BPA, I decided a dehydrator made from polycarbonate might not be the best health or eco choice.  As a matter of fact, I decided to avoid plastic dehydrators all together.  I’ve gone with a stainless steel case, and stainless steel racks.  It is the closest to an inert material next to glass.  Stainless is as close to leach-free as you can get, again, next to glass.  The stainless is more expensive, but there is a long warranty, so I hope it will be the last dehydrator I buy.    I also figure it will pay for itself in dried blueberry savings alone: wink, wink. Much of the stainless steel on the market is recycled, plus stainless is infinitely recyclable.  There are a number of stainless dehydrators on the market.  I did  find one dehydrator where the case was BPA, but the trays were polypropylene.  Polypropylene is considered a food safe plastic.   The dehydrator I decided on is rectangular with the drying element in the back.  The research and reading I did convinced me this is the most efficient shape and process.  I also ran across non-electric dehydrators, which would be the greenest, but some of the reviews moved me to an electric one.  I expect the dehydrator by the end of this week.  Once I get it, and try it out, I will write a review.

Here are some of the websites I looked at:

Sausage Maker-Dehydrators

Harvest Essentials

Plastic vs. Stainless

Dehydration Nation-Hanging Dehydrator

National Center for Home Food Preservation

 

4 Responses to “Dehydrators to Go Green?”

  1. Julie Says:

    So which one did you get? I am in the market for one myself.

  2. greengirlinc Says:

    I was going to wait to tell until after I tried it out, but I got the Sausage Maker/Dehydrator from Harvest Essentials.

  3. Julie Says:

    Awesome, I can’t wait to read your review!

  4. […] vs. StainlessDehydration Nation-Hanging DehydratorNational Center for Home Food PreservationLeave a Comment @retweet Facebook StumbleUpon Digg Del.icio.us Technorati Google Bookmarks Netscape […]


Leave a Reply

