Greengirlinc's Blog

Greening the world one blog at a time.

Ditch Most of the Kids’ Bath Toys March 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tiffany C @ 4:48 PM

It is regrettable but true.  I watched a segment on The Today Show.  Yuck!  Fecal matter inside pretty much any bath toys that squirts!  Get rid of all the toys with holes in them and disinfect the others with rubbing alcohol, hydrogen peroxide or, one of my favorites, a tea tree oil solution.   Besides the germs in and on the toys the many soft toys have phalates that are not acceptable for your children to chew on, but they tend to do.  I found a couple sites that have a more eco-friendly bath toy collection, but I would still avoid the squirting ones unless you thoroughly clean those by soaking them in what I listed above.  I know most of us don’t have time for that.

Land of Nod

My Toy Box

 

Leave a Reply

