Greengirlinc's Blog

Greening the world one blog at a time.

Entry for April 10, 2009 April 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tiffany C @ 2:03 PM

A little update on the natural Easter egg dyeing. I tried frozen blueberries, turmeric, frozen spinach and a frozen cranberry/raspberry mixture. I had mixed results. The blueberries and turmeric worked great! I got a deep purplish blue and a wonderful warm yellow. The spinach did not work at all. The dye bath came out a pathetic brownish yellow. The cran/raspberry mixture did not work either. I thought the eggs were turning a soft pink, but when I rinsed them off all the color was gone. I think I’ll try beets next time. It was a fun project with my daughter. It was also much easier to clean up after than the artificial dyes.

 

Leave a Reply

