Greengirlinc's Blog

Greening the world one blog at a time.

Entry for July 23, 2008 July 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tiffany C @ 3:52 PM

I bought my first LED bulb to try in my kitchen. It’s the EarthLED EvoLux Sh
13 Watt E26/27/B22 from http://www.earthled.com/index.html. It’s 13 watts and the equivalent to 25 watt CFL and 100 watt incandescent. The one I ordered was called a warm white, but I would equate it more to a natural sunlight. It is suppose to last for 50,000 hours and cost $6 a year to run. They also say it’s shatterproof and there’s no mercury or hazardous substances in it. There is a dimmable (sort of) LED, but they don’t work with wall dimmers for now.

LEDs are quite pricey, $79 for the bulb I bought, but considering what you’ll save on replacements and energy use I believe they are worth it. It doesn’t look great with the size can light I have, but I’m going to look for a baffle that might help. I’ll let you know if I find something better.

So, check out the website and see what you think. I believe that within five years we’ll all be replacing our CFLs with LEDs.

 

Leave a Reply

